Flipper album Gone Fishin’

On December 10, 2008, in Albums, by Cernak


Gone Fishin’ is a 1984 LP album, the second studio release by San Francisco punk/noise rock band Flipper. The album’s artwork featured a depiction of Flipper’s tour van as a ready-to-cut-out-and-assemble centerpiece, with similar cutouts of the four band members on the back cover. At the time of the album’s release, Subterranean Records offered extra empty covers of the album by mail order for $2 for those Flipper fans that wanted to have a cover to cut up and assemble. The album was reissued through Water Records on December 9, 2008 for the first time on CD, with liner notes provided by Buzz Osborne of the Melvins.

Track listing

  1. “The Light, The Sound, The Rhythm, The Noise” – 3:43
  2. “First the Heart” – 5:22
  3. “In Life My Friends” – 4:22
  4. “Survivors of the Plague” – 5:17
  5. “Sacrifice” – 4:26
  6. “Talk’s Cheap” – 2:32
  7. “You Nought Me” – 5:02
  8. “One by One” – 6:30

Flipper album Generic Flipper

On December 9, 2008, in Albums, by Cernak


Album – Generic Flipper is the debut album by the San Francisco band Flipper. Many fans say it is the band’s finest release, and it is definitely their most acclaimed release. In November 2007, Blender magazine ranked it #86 on their list of the 100 greatest “indie rock” albums of all time. It is also referred to as Album, Album: Generic, Generic Flipper, and just Generic. It is considered a groundbreaking album, the first album to play with the sludge and heaviness of early Black Sabbath but still be considered a punk album.

Generic Flipper was issued on CD for the first time by American Recordings (formerly Def American) in 1992 and later deleted. In 2008, the rights reverted back to Flipper and the album was reissued by Water Records on December 9th, 2008. Former Nirvana bassist Krist Novoselic, who joined Flipper in 2006, contributed liner notes to the new reissue.

Track listing

Side one

  1. “Ever” – 2:56
  2. “Life Is Cheap” – 3:55
  3. “Shed No Tears” – 4:26
  4. “(I Saw You) Shine” – 8:31

Side two

  1. “Way of the World” – 4:23
  2. “Life” – 4:44
  3. “Nothing” – 2:18
  4. “Living for the Depression” – 1:23
  5. “Sex Bomb” – 7:48

Purchase Album – Generic Flipper on amazon.com

Tagged with: