Flipper album Live at CBGBs 1983

On May 14, 1983, in Albums, by admin


On May 14th 1983 Flip­per returned to New York CBGBs. The band regarded their show there in 1982 as the wildest and cra­zi­est of that tour, so, hav­ing decided a con­cert should be recorded to doc­u­ment the tour, CBGBs was their first choice.

The Flip­per live expe­ri­ence was always unpre­dictable. Audi­ence par­tic­i­pa­tion was always a part of the show. Friends and fans would often come on stage to par­tic­i­pate or just hang out. This show was no excep­tion and many guest singers and scream­ers joined in the chaos.

Hope­lessly In Love’ was meant to be an instru­men­tal, but all that changed when an unknown fan came on stage and began to sing spon­ta­neous lyrics! Through­out the album you’ll hear many other crazy, love­able fans help­ing to make beau­ti­ful music with the Leg­endary Flip­per at the Leg­endary CBGBs.

In the vaults the mas­ters stayed until Over­ground man­aged to per­suade Steve DePace to do the sen­si­ble thing and mix the album. What you hear truly rep­re­sents an aston­ish­ing per­for­mance by an incred­i­ble band!

We’re being as hard­core as hell today, FUCK YOU

Flip­per were one of the most orig­i­nal bands of the punk/new wave genre, cred­ited as influ­ences by Kurt Cobain, Jello Biafra, Henry Rollins and many more

Track list­ing

  1. If It Don’t Fit Don’t Force It
  2. The Lights, The Sound, The Rhythm, The Noise
  3. Life
  4. In Life My Friends
  5. Ha Ha Ha
  6. I Saw You Shine
  7. If I Can’t Be Drunk
  8. Hope­lessly In Love
  9. Love Canal
  10. Sex Bomb

Pur­chase Live at CBGBs 1983 on amazon.com

Tagged with: